This forum is in read-only mode for archive purposes, please use our new forum at https://community.justflight.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > DC-8 Jetliner Series 10 through 70
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

DC-8 problems

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jdetrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: DC-8 problems
    Posted: 01 Nov 2013 at 1:13am
I want to preface this by saying that I like this product. It just needs more work.  I also want to state that I have a lot of knowledge on this subject as I flew them for 20 years.  Both as a Professional Flight Engineer and a First Officer.  I also worked as a mechanic on them for 5 years.  These are all problems that should have been caught by beta testers.   So here goes, it's long list.

Initial Observations on the DC-8

Enginners Panel:

1. There is an apu position on the volt/freq selector. Very few DC-8's had an apu installed.

2. Hydraulic system selector lever should normally be in the middle position. The lower position is an emergency position. This lever should be left in the middle position for normal ops.

3. Cabin pressure control is shown in the manual locked position. The knob should be rotated

90 degrees and colored yellow.

4. Fuel temp selector- Usually there is no selector, fuel temp is read from the number 4 main tank only.

5. The N1 and N2 gauges are reversed. Normally N1 is on the engine indicating panel up front. Howeverer, I have seen one airplane with the N1, N2 gauges in this configuration. It was originally ordered by Swissair.

6. Ground cooling/bloway jet switch is labelled but not installed.