This forum is in read-only mode for archive purposes, please use our new forum at https://community.justflight.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Chat > Hardware
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Headset

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blizzard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Headset
    Posted: 11 Dec 2018 at 9:44am
Hello All

Can someone recommend a decent headset for use with FSXS.
I have never used one on the sim before so any further advice would be most welcome.

Thanks and Regards

Blizzard
Mike
ThomasAH View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThomasAH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2018 at 10:39am
How much are you willing to pay?

On the cheaper end I'm quite happy with the
Speedlink Coniux Stereo Gaming Headset (SL-8783-BK)
(currently £26.51 on https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00I7P34I0)

I had a slightly more expensive one (Speedlink Medusa 5.1), but that is a little bit too heavy for me on head+ears for longer sessions.

If I don't need a microphone, I'm using 20-25 year old classic earbuds from Sony, of course with replacement foam/sponge covers. This is more comfortable for me and they are small enough to be kept on the desk all the time, while I put the larger headsets in a closet when not using them.

Most important feature for me (that all three above have) is an analogue volume control on the cable.
Some people might consider a mute button for the microphone to be important, but I always use a push-to-talk button on yoke or keyboard.
There are wireless headsets, but I don't have any experience with them.