Just Flight Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > F-Lite
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - DC10 HD Fixes and Mods
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

DC10 HD Fixes and Mods

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Jocko Flocko View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 22 May 2013
Location: Wasaga Beach
Points: 24
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jocko Flocko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: DC10 HD Fixes and Mods
    Posted: 14 hours 2 minutes ago at 3:58pm
I sent you a PM with my email address if you feel like sharing the config Kris.

I don't own the PMDG 747 base package, so I still contemplating whether or not to fork out more than 200$ for an addon aircraft.

Cheers Kris
Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 hours 25 minutes ago at 7:35am
Sure, how Can i share it here? Or should i sens you via e-mail.

BTW, the lighting is still WIP. Eng panel lighting needs some tweeking. I will update it in few weeks as now i am busy exploring B748 just released. :)
Back to Top
Jocko Flocko View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 22 May 2013
Location: Wasaga Beach
Points: 24
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jocko Flocko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2018 at 5:59pm
Hey Kris, would you mind sharing your FS Spotlights config file for the DC-10? I just got around to trying out this lighting application and I absolutely love it, especially on Carenado aircraft where the developers at Carenado/Alabeo can't figure out how to code panel lights without the bright dome light being on in the cockpit. :/

Btw, you screens look great with the addon interior lights. :)
Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2018 at 5:16pm
Mace, here is a link to freeware INS 64bit:
http://www.simufly.com/ins/beta.html

The SGA -30 is native FSX. Not sure about -10.

I am not using 4k. Its 1080p.

Which cockpit sounds did you manage to get working?
Back to Top
Mace_RB View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 03 Jan 2018
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mace_RB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Sep 2018 at 5:33pm
KrisJ - actually the link in your first post is the one that is working (at least presently, 9/22/18)
Also, are you using a 4K display?

It is good to see at least a few of us properly modding the CLS DC-10 to work well in 64-bit P3D.  I now have my DC-10-10's and DC-10-30's at a much higher level, with much help from you guys (thanks)  -- particularly on getting the cockpit sounds working and clueing me in to using a few aftermarket gauges.

I am presently using the ISG (Ernie Alston) FMC and Navigation Display (ND) with this aircraft (I use his Smiths FMC (gray)).  I use his MD-11 style ND.   It all works pretty well.  I presently only have these as 2D popups.  I haven't yet tried to alter the VC image to accept the FMC, and I'm not sure where I'd fit the ND unless I removed an existing gauge.

Those of you using an INS setup, are you using a 64-bit version of the Marco Ravanello CIVA INS?  If so, where can it be purchased/downloaded?

I also use the Roland 64-bit radar gauge, as a popup.  It works reasonably well.

Todays mod -- at you all's suggestion --  are the SGA DC-10-10 and -30 .air files, which I've just downloaded -- my only concern there, is that those are FS2004 (?) flight models.  If they are no good, I'll just revert back to the CLS HD air files.  I've done the cfg file fuel mods to a point, too.  Good flights all.
Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 2018 at 3:25pm
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1jqBBG0adlE3WyJlxyVegsQmyl0ebnvuj
Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 6:11pm
Sorry, the link is broken. Here is  proper one:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1jqBBG0adlE3WyJlxyVegsQmyl0ebnvujhttps://drive.google.com/open?id=1jqBBG0adlE3WyJlxyVegsQmyl0ebnvujhttps://drive.google.com/open?id=1jqBBG0adlE3WyJlxyVegsQmyl0ebnvuj

Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 5:23pm
Hi Mike, sorry for this delay in response. Ive been busy exploring DCS World recently.

This is a custom made Dc-10 night lighting made using FSLspootlight. Actually it includes 3 lighting options for a front panel: orange, metallic and mix of both. This is made based on more than a dozen of real world night cokpit photos available in the web. Following screenshot should give you a perspective of full cockpit lighting in a mix option:

https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipO_XDLzb50v5E9zxE_83I1FBy9BTfOCxQ8lCfsXhy2326wNtCVj_XCYCx37jYwQ2Q/photo/AF1QipOLfVswp8HwisqKMkqejvuniPQbGSuOScEs6tNp?key=X01kQnFSX2dkS001ZXYzQnZSVWJBVkI0V3o0Mmtn


Back to Top
Mike Hart View Drop Down
Ground Crew
Ground Crew
Avatar

Joined: 19 Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mike Hart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2018 at 6:29am
KrisJ - nice shot I see you have put in the INS. I have it in various types but prefer the FMC based on GPS. The other thing that caught my eye was the night panel lighting, seems very different in some aspects to mine particular the glareshield autopilot panel. I use the Capt Sim Wx Radar but have not found a spot to fit it into the VC (I don't think there is one).

Will get a screenshot of the tank gauges as soon as I can. 

Oh and I found a SGA airfile for the DC-10-40 there was an update or mod floating about here is the zip file reference: "sga1040.zip" it was at flyaway simulation. It actually did a lot of mods to the SGA version for MSFS2004 but works fine for me I only wanted the airfile.


Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2018 at 6:48pm
I am not sure but i think SGA did dash 40 only up to FS2004. I did not test it as i dont want to risk launching FS9 native model in P3D.

Re fuel: can you send me gauges screenshot of your fully loaded tanks? Will see whats wrong.
Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2018 at 4:01pm
Screenshot from my today KMEM-PANC  FX5132 flight:

Back to Top
Mike Hart View Drop Down
Ground Crew
Ground Crew
Avatar

Joined: 19 Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mike Hart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2018 at 9:53am
Kris J - Tried the air file, works fine as far as I am concerned and does give much better N readings and most of all consistent power output. Did FFX/SGA do the DC-10-40 I saw references to it with the original release but have not found the packaged versions which had both, picked up the 30 series with a repaint version on FlightSim. 

Still not happy with the fuel situation but I think it may be a guage issue not a config problem anyway will worry about that a bit later. 


Back to Top
Mike Hart View Drop Down
Ground Crew
Ground Crew
Avatar

Joined: 19 Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mike Hart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2018 at 7:54am
Kris J Thanks for that, good what a couple of minds on the problems can do. I will do the changes re the fuel tanks, and as they apply across the range, they all should be the same except for the DC10-10.

The turbine numbers and performance was a real problem, after countless hours amending this changing that, trying an earlier version air file and Ruths, I came to the conclusion that there were differences built into this one that I could not fix, so the mods were a compromise. 

The engine data modelling is completely incorrect for the CLS HD version and the problem lies in the tables used by the MS ESP engine to do its thing. This by the way is not an uncommon problem across all jet aircraft in FSX because while the piston engines are done very well there are issues with thrust and altitude and thrust and temperature that are not captured or responded to properly in FSX. When I read an original flight test report for the DC-10 it was even more apparent how badly this bird performed, the DC-10 had very good power all the way up to FL's, it actually could reach M0.92 in the cruise (at light weights) so to have a model basically die at about F180 and above was simply ridiculous. 

I will give that air file a go see what transpires or expires. LOL. I will get back to you when I have done that. 

Thanks for the input and advice appreciated. 
Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 10:51am
Now, with regards to aircraft performance.

The Dc-10-30 has following range of reduced thrust takeoff N1 settings:
Min: 89,7 for -40C OAT and +20C Assumed Temp.
Max: 115,8 for +20C OAT and +20C Assumed Temp.

I tried your mod. For the flight i made based on acctual conditions i needed 106,2 N1. However i was only able to achive ~103 N1 with throthe full forward.

There is a very simple way to have proper performance on CLS Dc-10-30. Simply search for SGA/FFX model in the web and take the .air file from it. The SGA Team made incredible work achiving their model flying close to the Real World numbers. They worked with R/W DC10/KC10 drivers, one of them active on flight simming forums.

Try it. If you have some problems with the flight dynamics let me know and i can share you my aircraft.cfg settings.
Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Aug 2018 at 5:48pm
Now it looks much better, pretty much like 1972 Dc10-30 FAA certification, which i  bring below. And as you can see the main wing ones (1 & 3) are smaller then main center (3) and center aux is the biggest. The 1967 US Gallons under wing Aux Tank you have is probably a modification for particular serial numbers. Here is FAA:

Fuel Tank Capacity (pounds)
Usable Usable 25 Arm
Location Structural (6.7 lb./gal.) (6.7 lb./gal.) (inches)
Main No. 1. 43,202 40,203 40,704 1492.6
Main No. 2. 69,495 64,969 65,438 1296.0
Main No. 3. 43,202 40,203 40,704 1492.6
Center Wing Auxiliary 104,141 97,409 98,111 1266.1

In aircfraft cfg here is correct entry for your numbers:
Center1=    -0.82,   0.00,  -1.50, 9664, 1000 //Tank 2
Center2=    1.48,  0.00, 4.50, 14698, 1000 //Center
LeftMain=   -17.20, -47.00,  4.50,  6090, 1000 //tank 1
RightMain=  -17.20,  47.00,  4.50,  6090, 1000 //tank 3

Re Center2 - i merged the center aux capacity and the under wing aux hence 14,698 gal.
Back to Top
Mike Hart View Drop Down
Ground Crew
Ground Crew
Avatar

Joined: 19 Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mike Hart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Aug 2018 at 10:45am
Kris J 

This is from the Boeing Data Sheet DAC-67803A January 1991 (Revised April 2004) for the following types (DC10, 30,30CF, 40 and 40CF):

Total Usable Capacity: 36,622 US Gallons

6090 US Gallons each Wing Tank 1 and 3 each
9664 US Gallons Number 2 tank
12,731 US Gallons CTR Wing  Aux Tank
1967 US Gallons under wing Aux Tank

All up that equals 36542 US Gallons

by my reading that gives
two wing tanks 1 3
one number 2 tank
one centre wing aux tank
and one under wing aux tank

So I am not sure which is which now, the FAA data should be correct, and so should the Lufthansa data
but as you can see from above thats how I ended up with what I used. 

Anyway happy to check this out and any other changes you might suggest. 





Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jul 2018 at 8:45am
One more comment re fuel system in CLS Dc-10. The tanks setup i provided above is correct however CLS did not properly (or at all) model fuel transfer mechanism. Normally one would transfer fuel from Aux tank to main ones but in CLS model you cannot do it. As a result in very long flights (when you need more fuel in Aux then you have on wing ones) you will end up flight with main ones dry and fuel remaining only in Aux. This makes the plane bit havy on tail on landing.
Back to Top
KrisJ View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Location: Poland
Points: 22
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2018 at 8:42pm
Mike, first of all thank you for  you efffort. The more people in the community do things to have as good as possilbe Dc-10 in the sim the better.

With the tanks i think you made it wrong. Here is a 590k version fuel capacity as per official Dc-10 family FAA certification document:
Main No. 1. 40,203
Main No. 2. 64,969
Main No. 3. 40,203
Center Wing Auxiliary 97,409

This gives following aircraft.cfg entry:

[fuel] //total:54770 gal
Center1=    -0.82,   0.00,  -1.50, 10372, 1000 //Tank 2
Center2=    1.48,  0.00, 4.50, 15543, 1000 //Center
LeftMain=   -17.20, -47.00,  4.50,  6448, 1000 //tank 1
RightMain=  -17.20,  47.00,  4.50,  6448, 1000 //tank 3

Now, the "additional tank in the wing" you refer to is not an additional tank in fact but a compartment. Each Wing tank (Main 1 & 3) is made of two compartments - inner and outer but the gaugue reads total of both compartments and the official data in documents like the above one consider Main Tanks 1 & 3 as sets of two compartments each.

The Aux tank is the biggest. Acctually this  is an exact quote from the Lufthansa Dc-10-30 video on YT where FE explains that. We can trust him :)

I suggest you try my settings. BTW, i have some comments re power settings of your made which I will give tomorrow. Also I can tell you how to modify your JF/CLS Dc-10-30 so it flies by the R/W numbers.
Back to Top
Mike Hart View Drop Down
Ground Crew
Ground Crew
Avatar

Joined: 19 Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Mike Hart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 2018 at 7:17am
Sorry cannot edit. Yes the tank volumes were a surprise. But the data sheets were consistent across the range for the various types. Basically the wings had more one of the central tanks was larger and the auxilliary was smaller but there were two additional tanks located in the wings near the wing root which were not modelled by CLS so to keep the Weight and Balance accurate I added it to the wing tank capacity. But your right is less than what you thought and I thought as well. That is not to say that some operators may have had additional capacity added but generally they kept them as they were supplied. 
Back to Top
Mike Hart View Drop Down
Ground Crew
Ground Crew
Avatar

Joined: 19 Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Mike Hart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 2018 at 7:05am
The tank data was hard to come by and as usual nailing it down via the internet was difficult. I eventually found a technical document by Boeing who took over McDonnell Douglas and so have to keep and make this data available. So the data came from Boeing technical data sheets on the DC-10. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down