Just Flight Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > PA-28R Arrow/Turbo Arrow III/IV and Warrior II
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Warrior II - ADF when NDB is .5
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Warrior II - ADF when NDB is .5

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
G-CYMRU View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 26 Mar 2018
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote G-CYMRU Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Warrior II - ADF when NDB is .5
    Posted: 26 Mar 2018 at 9:34pm
Hi all,

I’ve got the Warrior II and every time I try and tune an NDB with a decimal 5 frequency the ADF does not pick up the NDB at all! For instance Cardiff 388.5 I have tried rounding up to 389 and down to 388 and nothing.

If I change aircraft to another type that does allow the input of a decimal and then switch back it works. With it displaying 389. However if I then change the frequency and back again to 389 it doesn’t pick it up?!

Any ideas??
Back to Top
thefrog View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Points: 38
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thefrog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2018 at 3:32pm
I asked exactly this in March last year in this forum concerning the Arrow and haven't resolved it yet, so it would be good to hear a solution!
Back to Top
ThomasAH View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2016
Points: 114
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThomasAH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2018 at 3:43pm
Search for the FSUIPC configuration option "AutoTuneADF=Yes", this may help.
(I haven't tried yet as the ADF frequencies I need are all .0)
Back to Top
Martyn View Drop Down
Just Flight Staff
Just Flight Staff
Avatar
Development Manager

Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Location: Huntingdon, UK
Points: 7546
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Martyn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2018 at 9:49am
This is an annoying limitation of the way FSX/P3D simulates ADF radios. In the real world the unit fitted to the Arrow and Warrior doesn't provide a way to set the fractional part of the ADF frequency, however in the real world you don't need to set the exact frequency in order to receive a signal so that isn't an issue. Unfortunately it does need to be set exactly in FSX/P3D, hence this issue.

As Thomas has pointed out, a popular way to get around the limitation is to use the FSUIPC option. Alternatively some people add the 2D radio pop-up from something like the C172 which provides the ability to set the fractional part.

I'll investigate what options could be included in our aircraft to provide a workaround for this.
Martyn
Just Flight Ltd
Back to Top
G-CYMRU View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 26 Mar 2018
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote G-CYMRU Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2018 at 11:22am
Martyn,

A clear description of a workaround would be greatly appreciated when you find out what’s the best!

Kind Regards

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down