Just Flight Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > VC10 Jetliner
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 2D autopilot pop-up for the VC-10?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

2D autopilot pop-up for the VC-10?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
stratocruiser2 View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stratocruiser2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 2D autopilot pop-up for the VC-10?
    Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 8:36pm
I am a big fan of 2D pop-ups for certain parts of the panel and use them a lot when they are included with an aircraft. I would love to see some becoming available for the VC-10, particularly a pop-up for the autopilot which, because of its position, can be a bit difficult to access. Just a potential idea for a future update?

Bill
Back to Top
flyforever View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 02 Aug 2012
Location: us
Points: 121
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote flyforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2018 at 10:44am
JF made it clear that existing planes and future ones will no longer have 2d panels. It's too bad , since as you mention, some cockpit features would be more easily accessible via 2d.
FV
Back to Top
stratocruiser2 View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stratocruiser2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2018 at 8:37pm
What a pity - I had thought they were referring to complete 2D panels which wouldn't bother me as I always fly using the VC. I note that many developers including PMDG, Quality Wings, A2A, etc provide multiple 2D pop-ups for various panel functions which I certainly find very useful and use a lot.

Bill
Back to Top
flyforever View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 02 Aug 2012
Location: us
Points: 121
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote flyforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2018 at 6:58pm
Just flight and other developers are making a big mistake by not allowing the creation of 2D panels.
It keeps most serious simmers away from these aircrafts.
I own quite a few JF planes, but don't fly them anymore simply because I cannot have a few 2d panels for my IFR flying.
I looked at the VC10 demo and like it. However, I've decided not to purchase it, knowing that it has the same "2d" pop up panels issue.
Indeed, it's a pity, and I am puzzled by the lack of interest regarding this one feature. Again,
there was a time when gauges could simply be added with fspanel. I didn't mind making my own 2d popup. Now, it seems the developers have made it impossible to do it this way.

FV
Back to Top
stratocruiser2 View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stratocruiser2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 1:22pm
The VC-10 is a very nice product - good virtual cockpit modelling, realistic sounds and flight dynamics - overall quite an immersive experience. However I personally find that constantly having to pan down and zoom in to the pedestal to see the autopilot is quite tedious and I think, for this reason, I won't be flying it anything like as much as I should be. There is a lot to be said for the convenience of having the ability to display frequently used parts of the panel on a separate monitor. I use 3 monitors with the VC on my main one, any available pop-up windows for panel functions on the second and usually a navigation display +/- the AS16 window on the third.
Back to Top
Rich View Drop Down
Just Flight Staff
Just Flight Staff
Avatar

Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Points: 8468
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rich Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 2:52pm
Hi chaps,
What I'd suggest is to use the VC views in a pop out window. That way it does the same job as a 2D panel, but is a little more flexible. 



Back to Top
flyforever View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 02 Aug 2012
Location: us
Points: 121
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote flyforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 6:22pm
Gee, I had not thought of that. Let me try it.
FV
Back to Top
stratocruiser2 View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stratocruiser2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2018 at 10:06pm
Tried it - seemed like a good idea and although you can open a 'new view' window to show the AP controls on the centre console, unfortunately the zoom and pan controls will then only work on that window (not on the main VC view) which is not ideal.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down