Just Flight Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > Tornado GR1
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - A couple of issues with V4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

A couple of issues with V4

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Panny View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Panny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A couple of issues with V4
    Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 11:13am
Hello,
Finally got back to flying the Tonka again in V4. Now with a 4K monitor and new GPU things run a lot better.
However, seem to have a couple of things that aren't right.

Firstly, it appears that when I load a flight plan on the left TV Tab, the instant I do so the flight simulator just instantly crashes and closes. No freeze or anything.

Secondly TFR doesn't seem to function properly. Despite the fact it has been set up correctly when I engage it, it doesn't keep clearance relative to the ground. Instead if I set 500ft clearance, it will fly 500ft MSL instead, regardless of the ground. Is there something going wrong here, am I doing something wrong?

Otherwise, very much enjoying the product. Also, it would be great in the future if you thought about Tacpacking the product. The Tornado Gr.1 just has so much potential, whether that's form the JP233 attack, to laydown and loft modes. If so, could the ordnance manager have more options such as?:
Can load just a single GBU on port and starboard shoulders instead of 2 to replicate the 3 GBU loadout of the Gulf War.
Carry training bombs, bombs on the inner wing pylon, ALARM, TIALD.

Needless to say it's a lot there, and I would be very happy personally to pay for a 'professional upgrade' for these things.

Happy New Year's,
Peter
Back to Top
Panny View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Panny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 11:20am
Also I noticed that when on the TV TAB to select a tanker, there is no tanker present. Can this be resolved?
Back to Top
Herky View Drop Down
P1
P1
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Location: Great Britain
Points: 755
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Herky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 7:18pm
Originally posted by Panny Panny wrote:

Hello,
Finally got back to flying the Tonka again in V4. Now with a 4K monitor and new GPU things run a lot better.
However, seem to have a couple of things that aren't right.

Firstly, it appears that when I load a flight plan on the left TV Tab, the instant I do so the flight simulator just instantly crashes and closes. No freeze or anything.

Secondly TFR doesn't seem to function properly. Despite the fact it has been set up correctly when I engage it, it doesn't keep clearance relative to the ground. Instead if I set 500ft clearance, it will fly 500ft MSL instead, regardless of the ground. Is there something going wrong here, am I doing something wrong?

Otherwise, very much enjoying the product. Also, it would be great in the future if you thought about Tacpacking the product. The Tornado Gr.1 just has so much potential, whether that's form the JP233 attack, to laydown and loft modes. If so, could the ordnance manager have more options such as?:
Can load just a single GBU on port and starboard shoulders instead of 2 to replicate the 3 GBU loadout of the Gulf War.
Carry training bombs, bombs on the inner wing pylon, ALARM, TIALD.

Needless to say it's a lot there, and I would be very happy personally to pay for a 'professional upgrade' for these things.

Happy New Year's,
Peter


I have the same issues. I have submitted s ticket.

The terrain following has never been satisfactory. The radar needs to follow terrain maps. The SSW Tornado has freely available downloadable terrain maps that can be integrated into the simulation. Just using the P3D terrain doesn't seem to work. But SSW have terrible problems with their forum being hacked and their installer is hopeless for P3dv4, but that's another subject!

Re TacPack, I 100% agree. TacPack the JF Tonka and I'd buy it twice! I am not holding out for a JP 233, that would knock DCS for six!

Here's hoping everything gets sorted.

Regards

David
You Tube at HERKY231 or David Herky

Back to Top
Panny View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Panny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 9:29pm
I have the SSW Tornado as well.
I won't compare the two, but it does seem SSW has the TFR nailed, and I like their moving maps(the default map the JF Tonka uses, is just ugly and doesn't have much application IMO).

I think the other thing I forgot to mention would have to be a visual model at least of the TIRRS Tornado.
Back to Top
kevinh View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 12 Nov 2008
Points: 205
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 11:54pm
TFR has only ever worked once for me in the JF GR-1. Always dives the GR-1 straight for the terrain. The one time it worked it had a continuous, rapid pitch oscillation. RH mode also continuously oscillates in pitch, though it seems a bit better in P3D.
Back to Top
Martyn View Drop Down
Just Flight Staff
Just Flight Staff
Avatar
Development Manager

Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Location: Huntingdon, UK
Points: 7393
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Martyn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2018 at 11:52am
We're investigating both issues at the moment. We'll update you ASAP.

Thanks
Martyn
Martyn
Just Flight Ltd
Back to Top
Herky View Drop Down
P1
P1
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Location: Great Britain
Points: 755
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Herky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2018 at 12:47pm
Originally posted by Martyn Martyn wrote:

We're investigating both issues at the moment. We'll update you ASAP.

Thanks
Martyn



Much Obliged!
You Tube at HERKY231 or David Herky

Back to Top
Herky View Drop Down
P1
P1
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Location: Great Britain
Points: 755
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Herky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2018 at 9:59pm
Originally posted by Panny Panny wrote:

I have the SSW Tornado as well.
I won't compare the two, but it does seem SSW has the TFR nailed, and I like their moving maps(the default map the JF Tonka uses, is just ugly and doesn't have much application IMO).

I think the other thing I forgot to mention would have to be a visual model at least of the TIRRS Tornado.


I agree the moving map in the SSW Tornado was a great feature. They use separate maps for the terrain elevation and topography, then use these to integrate the terrain following, this worked well. What didn't work well was the complicated install process and the autopilot! Missing targeting modes, awkward key assignments and their statement that the product would get no further development? Well at least they were honest there!


Also no rear seat position, so no multi function displays. It felt like a half finished experiment that was abandoned for some reason. So it's no longer on my system. I had it on my P3dv3 sim, so it kept crashing due to oom!

Like all these complex simulators if you could have all the best features in one, it would be magnificent, but then it would probably cost £100+?

I hope the JF Tornado continues to develop. A TacPack add on with a JP233 weapon would be superb. A moving map and terrain following radar linked to the AP with the maps from the SSW product.


Cheers.
You Tube at HERKY231 or David Herky

Back to Top
Panny View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Panny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2018 at 10:23am
Well I think the way to solve these issues is to take the approach that Milviz has done with their F-4s.
Considering how long they've been available for they give the equivalent to DLCs within the F-4.
Say the initial F-4E release was in July 2015(so two and a half years old) and costs $60. Thereafter about a year and a bit ago they released Tacpack with it which costs $15 and then finally more recently the ADV version of the F-4E which adds more functionality, costing another $19. In essence, if you bought bit by bit, it would cost $95 for the finished product, which I personally think is fair as it has all the bells and whistles. However if you wait, the whole bundle is $80 for the base and expansions.

I think these days functionality and systems complexity is the name of the game, and for top tier military addons to be effective they should do what Milviz has done here. With a base pack you can provide an intermediate finished product, and then over time add more functionality to it.
Considering addons from PMDG and FSLabs push up to $140 these days I find it somewhat pedantic people get uppity on costs of the FS fighters. I would pay $140 for a PMDG standard Tornado for sure, and I believe that it is similarly complicated.

Peter
Back to Top
Herky View Drop Down
P1
P1
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Location: Great Britain
Points: 755
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Herky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2018 at 11:20am
Originally posted by Panny Panny wrote:

Well I think the way to solve these issues is to take the approach that Milviz has done with their F-4s.
Considering how long they've been available for they give the equivalent to DLCs within the F-4.
Say the initial F-4E release was in July 2015(so two and a half years old) and costs $60. Thereafter about a year and a bit ago they released Tacpack with it which costs $15 and then finally more recently the ADV version of the F-4E which adds more functionality, costing another $19. In essence, if you bought bit by bit, it would cost $95 for the finished product, which I personally think is fair as it has all the bells and whistles. However if you wait, the whole bundle is $80 for the base and expansions.

I think these days functionality and systems complexity is the name of the game, and for top tier military addons to be effective they should do what Milviz has done here. With a base pack you can provide an intermediate finished product, and then over time add more functionality to it.
Considering addons from PMDG and FSLabs push up to $140 these days I find it somewhat pedantic people get uppity on costs of the FS fighters. I would pay $140 for a PMDG standard Tornado for sure, and I believe that it is similarly complicated.

Peter


Seemingly we are of like mind here. Good plan to provide incremental development models as per Milviz F4.

I would pay FSLABS or PMDG prices for a fully developed and TacPack enabled Tornado. If done incrementally, the developer should have some security in that he will not have all the eggs in one basket, so profits will always be there in the sale of the model range.

I paid $90 for the Tackpac + Superbug, as a Christmas present to myself. This was money well spent! The systems in the F/A 18 E are well modelled. The overall level of immersion is deeper (for myself) than the PMDG or FSL aircraft. The aircraft can be enjoyed without TacPack, having the full range of navigation avionics. However, adding TacPack brings a whole new level of complexity, interest and challenge.

We have precious few advanced military simulation models for Prepared V4. The Monopoly of DCS (they make devs sign a contract to not sell on other platforms) means that we will not be seeing aircraft like the Metal to Mesh Mirage 2000. So aircraft like the Superbug and hopefully JF Tonka, will be our current modern military jets.

Regards

David
You Tube at HERKY231 or David Herky

Back to Top
paul day View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 19 Mar 2017
Location: South Wales
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paul day Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2018 at 12:23pm
I have the same problems as many other posters on this forum ie
1) No HUD
2)No functuality in the rear cockpit
3)See through airspeed gauge in the rear cockpit
4)Attitude indicator gauge missing in the rear cockpit
5)Gauge to the right of the HUD not working
Also could somebody explain why in the CFG for the  German liveries  the kb_checklists=Eurofighter_check

Regards Paul Day. 
paul day
Back to Top
Martyn View Drop Down
Just Flight Staff
Just Flight Staff
Avatar
Development Manager

Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Location: Huntingdon, UK
Points: 7393
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Martyn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2018 at 2:11pm
Hi Paul,

Please download the latest installer from your account and then check to see if the gauges are still missing.

If you are using FSX or P3D v1-v3 then you'll need to enable the rear seat using the configuration tool. If you have the simulator open then you'll need to restart it before the changes take effect.

The Tornado uses its own custom checklist panel so you can ignore the default checklist/reference kneeboard tabs.

Thanks
Martyn
Martyn
Just Flight Ltd
Back to Top
Herky View Drop Down
P1
P1
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jul 2009
Location: Great Britain
Points: 755
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Herky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:03pm
Just an update on my crash to desktop issue upon loading a flight plan?

Today I loaded the Tornado and was able to load a flight plan without any CTD?

Trouble was after taking off the aircraft struggled with all the auto pilot functions. Also the 15 waypoints were not visible on the navigators screen in the back?

Selecting altitude hold caused a roll and dive into the deck? The terrain following feature did not work whatsoever.

So I don't understand what's going on with the 64 bit version if this sim.

Regards
David
You Tube at HERKY231 or David Herky

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down