Just Flight Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > General Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Traffic Global
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Traffic Global

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 567
Author
Message
tonyc View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tonyc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2018 at 2:23pm
I like many others gave up on this "Early Access" version some months ago because like you it simply wouldn't show any aircraft. i got my money back and will wait to see if they ever get to the point where this product is able to be sold for all setups. 

The problem I see is that there are many people who have it working and there have been those like us who could not. Surely it is the latter that are the most important important because until these basic problems are understood and resolved the product will never reach further than this "early access"/beta stage.

However those of us who have had the problems over these many months are ignored and finish up getting our money back.The downside of this is we are blocked from involvement in the Early Access forum and are unable to contribute to the resolution of the problems not least of which may be a similarity in setups somewhere that prevent its use.

I am not one of those to come here and rant. It achieves nothing. But unless those who previously have not been able to use this product are consulted how on earth will it ever get to market? 
Back to Top
Derek View Drop Down
Just Flight Staff
Just Flight Staff
Avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Location: Waterford
Points: 503
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Derek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Oct 2018 at 7:06am
If the split with working/not working was significant we could probably sort it. Unfortunately, there are very few who can't get it working and the only common factor seems to Windows issues. The same was true of Traffic 360 (and rival traffic software).
AI traffic demands a lot from a flight sim setup and it's not helped when, if certain Windows components don't function, the only solution could be a re-install of Windows - rest assured that if we asked everyone with a problem to reinstall Windows and it didn't work for someone we'd get some serious flak.
The thing is, I can't see how those who have asked for refunds and are not participating in the EA version can help? The software was run in beta long before it went to EA and the purpose of EA was to improve it - not make it work. Contrary to popular myth, an EA program is NOT a paid beta.
The bottom line with FS is that there is no software that can be sold for 'all setups' - PCs can be as individual as the people that own them. It is frustrating for us, but it does explain why games consoles are so popular. Every X-box is the same - but it does rather take the fun out of it.
Not sure that answer is of any use to you, but feel free to reinstall Traffic Global and we can see if we can get it working - but please bear in mind you are in "make it work with my setup" territory, rather than Early Access. In terms of functionality TG is pretty much finished and our current EA focus is on making improvements and enhancements following feedback from users.
Back to Top
ThomasAH View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2016
Points: 142
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThomasAH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Oct 2018 at 4:06pm
Originally posted by Derek Derek wrote:

an EA program is NOT a paid beta.

I thought it was, at least my impression is that between TG's EA releases there sometimes were many features added, and some features (like more flight plans) are still missing.
Back to Top
Derek View Drop Down
Just Flight Staff
Just Flight Staff
Avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Location: Waterford
Points: 503
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Derek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Oct 2018 at 5:46pm
Nope - although the whole EA concept has been given a bad name by a handful of games on Steam, it should really be the case that software is beta tested before going into EA. This was the case with Traffic Global and the only issues we were aware of on release were some liveries that still needed painting, hence black aircraft.

Yes, we have made some changes, added lots of new features along with some liveries, but the functionality of the program remains the same. Any changes made should really be the result of user feedback.

Flight plans are a completely different issue - the program contains a large number and we will maybe add more, but it won't be possible to add all the world's airline traffic, so some flights will always be missing.

The bottom line is that we are unlikely to be able to make any changes to 'make it work' - if it doesn't work for you now then any changes most probably need to be made at the PC end rather than the software itself.
Back to Top
ThomasAH View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2016
Points: 142
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ThomasAH Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Oct 2018 at 3:43pm
Maybe we understand different things with the word Beta :)

But regarding the flight plans: I thought so far it only contains somewhere between 30K and 40K plans, while Traffic360 contains 600K. Or did I understand something wrong here?
Back to Top
flymia View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 26 Oct 2018
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote flymia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Oct 2018 at 6:18pm
Is there anyway to see a list of all airlines and aircraft models? 

Trying to determine if I was to get Traffic Global, but have no idea how many airlines and models are actually covered in the flight plans. 


Never mind, saw a pretty good list there. Assuming it works, I think this is a good product to buy given the airline list. 

Anyone try using this with any other traffic add on together? Since there is not military or GA flights? 

Thanks. 
Back to Top
microlight View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 15 Nov 2018
Location: Hampshire, UK
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote microlight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2018 at 8:13pm
Good to join the forum - can you help me with Traffic Global compatibility? I'm running P3D v2.5, so will TG be compatible? Obviously I'd like to be sure before I purchase. The product page mentions FSX (and Steam), P3D v3 and 4 - but no 2. Some review sites are showing it as v2 compatible, and it would seem a little strange that it wouldn't be P3D v2 compatible if it's OK with FSX so your feedback would be very welcome.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 567
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down