Just Flight Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > General Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Nav radios on Commando?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Nav radios on Commando?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Merlin59 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Merlin59 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nav radios on Commando?
    Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 6:27pm
Just bought the new C-46 and love it. However the nav radios on the military cockpit aren't working. I can't set the radio nav frequency. I could be just missing something but I don't think so.
Back to Top
WarHorse47 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Location: Puget Sound
Status: Online
Points: 159
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WarHorse47 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 7:40pm
I submitted a ticket this morning after my 2nd flight.

I cannot set the overhead Nav1 or Com1 on any of the models. You can change the frequencies with the modern panel/GPS, but again not with the overhead controls.

Also, I'm not sure if the attitude gauge is functioning as it should. Banking the aircraft in flight doesn't change the reading on the gauge.

I'm wondering if any other users are experiencing the same, or if there's a switch somewhere I'm overlooking.

--WH
Back to Top
Merlin59 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Merlin59 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 7:42pm
Actually quite a bit not working. The auto pilot new version doesn't seem to be functional. It won't hold course but again it may be something I am doing wrong. In flight the fuel tanks are set to the front tanks but it is using from the rear tanks!
Back to Top
Merlin59 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Merlin59 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 8:11pm
Fuel tank system needs some attention for sure. When I landed one of the center tank fuel hands just fell to zero. Fuels there but no reading.
Back to Top
WarHorse47 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Location: Puget Sound
Status: Online
Points: 159
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WarHorse47 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 8:53pm
Attitude gauge (Military version) DOES function. The cross bar is hard to see, however.

And I think I discovered the issue with the Military Com1 and Nav1 gauges.

In the Military version neither gauge has a standby frequency, yet their entry for the [Radio} section says it does.

I changed Com1= from 1.1 to 1.0 and Nav1 = from 1,1,1 to 1,0,1 and was able to adjust my frequencies from the overhead panel.

I'm not sure how this impacts the modern panel with the GNS 430, however. I can still adjust the frequencies with the Nav1/Com1 radio.

Don't try these changes at home unless you know what you're doing and have made a backup of your aircraft.cfg file. And consider this a temporary fix to give JF a chance to respond on the issue.

--WH
Back to Top
ezunino View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Location: Guayaquil, Ecua
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ezunino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 11:04pm
Interior lights? Can't make work..Very dark pedestal and oh panel. How to activate the lights?
Thanks

Back to Top
Merlin59 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Merlin59 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 1:47am
I'll give the nav1, com1 setting a try. Would be nice to get it working. At least till jf fixes it permanently. Thanks!
Back to Top
WarHorse47 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Location: Puget Sound
Status: Online
Points: 159
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WarHorse47 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 3:52pm
Merlin, did those edits work for you?

JF responded to my support ticket and suggested I do a full uninstall/reinstall as admin. I've never fixed an issue with that approach and I always to my installs as admin. Needless to say nothing changed, so I restored my edits to the [radios] section and all works as it should.

I'm not sure what is going on. I am surprised that not more users have reported the issue. There are some comments on the SOH forum, but not on this subject. Guess nobody else does ILS landings.

--WH
Back to Top
Merlin59 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Merlin59 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 4:10pm
I got the same response from JF. The edits worked like a charm. At least in the military version. I haven't tried the modern cockpit yet. Do they work there as well? No matter you have the gps just wondering. I always install as an administrator as well but I did it anyway and it fixed nothing. I guess we can at least rule that out. Be aware if you aren't already the fuel delivery is backwards. Center is center but front is rear and rear is front. If you know that it's only annoying not lethal.☺ Hope they patch it for real!
Back to Top
irbfdc View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 28 Aug 2014
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irbfdc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 5:40pm
I have the same problem with the overhead nav tuning. Landing, taxi, nav lights need switches. A dome light would be nice, everything below the instrument panel is in the dark at night. Pitch control is almost impossible, like flying a yo-yo. Planes look good, though, plenty of power. Sincerely, Dave C. in West Virginia.
Dave C.
Back to Top
spooky View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff


Joined: 11 Aug 2017
Location: Donegal
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote spooky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 10:12pm
cant change com/nav radio either in military model






Richard
Back to Top
Merlin59 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 129
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Merlin59 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 11:13pm
@spooky

Use Warhorse's edits if you are comfortable with that. It will fix it but it does mess with the modern cockpit some. You lose the standby frequencies but the radios work either way. Good enough for me till JF fixes it. I fixed mines taxing ability. My yoke has rudder paddles but differential brakes are hard to achieve for me. May not be realistic but close enough for me.





Back to Top
WarHorse47 View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jul 2008
Location: Puget Sound
Status: Online
Points: 159
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WarHorse47 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2017 at 1:38am
There is another, more elegant, solution to the Nav1/Com1 issue.

Instead of editing the [radios] section as I previously noted, add a generic radio stack to the panel.cfg. In this approach it should not affect the modern panel.

Apparently the problem is that the overhead knobs for changing frequencies do work, but not for the primary frequency. They change the standby frequency instead. With the military panel there is no way to know that or to switch between main and standby frequencies.

--WH
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down