Just Flight Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > Tornado GR1
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Terrain Following or Bouncy Castle
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Terrain Following or Bouncy Castle

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
MashTrapper View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MashTrapper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Terrain Following or Bouncy Castle
    Posted: 15 May 2016 at 6:05pm
Am I doing something wrong or is it too much to hope for?

I managed to get good results with Terrain Following exactly once, in Hawaii over some rugged and challenging terrain. That lasted for about 10 minutes and it was quite exhilarating. It was navigating mountains beautifully.

That was after many, many failed attempts both before and since. Most of the time, the Bouncy Castle effect moves increasingly beyond Clearance knob setting and into the ground. Other times, turning on Terrain Following just results in an instant fiery crash into the terrain from whatever altitude I was at when I engaged it. I've been at 10,000 feet and BOOM! ground contact.

Failures happen regardless of whether I perform manual start or hit the auto-start button, or just start flying right after loading up.

So my question is: am I missing something or is this pretty much what's expected?
Back to Top
kevinh View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 12 Nov 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 199
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2016 at 6:13pm
I don't think you are missing anything, that's what I get too. Even when it is holding height above terrain I get a constant porpoising oscillation. That certainly isn't right. Basically TF and RH modes are unusable as they are. I'm sure with some autopilot tuning it could be fixed.

I haven't seen failures though.

Kevin
Back to Top
MashTrapper View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 25 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MashTrapper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2016 at 12:47am
Yeah, seems like terrain following was an idea that didn't, but hopefully will get adequate attention.

By failure I meant failure to keep the plane off the ground. I didn't mean system failure. That was a bad choice of words on my part.
Back to Top
kevinh View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 12 Nov 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 199
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 11:05pm
Any chance this will ever get fixed?
Back to Top
Henry_W View Drop Down
Check-In Staff
Check-In Staff
Avatar

Joined: 06 May 2017
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Henry_W Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2017 at 7:46pm
Same problem here. When using TF, sometimes the Tornado keeps the height above ground, while very violently pitching up and down, sometime it crashes into the ground. What I did observe is that even while flying over flat “ground” (e.g. a big lake or the sea), it is always descending, even though the altitude is constant. The path vector in the HUD indicates approximately 2 degrees below the horizon and the VSI indicates a constant descend rate of 600 ft/min. When you watch the aircraft from external view, you see the landscape constantly jumping down, so that the plane must keep descending in order to remain at constant altitude. Weird. When using altitude hold all is fine, but TF and RH are giving the above-mentioned problems.

Still a wonderful plane, though.

Best regards,

Henry
Back to Top
kevinh View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 12 Nov 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 199
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2017 at 9:11am
Is there any news of this? Will Just Flight ever fix TF and RH modes? I know they have a lot on but an acknowledgment that the problem exists and a commitment to fix it would be great.

I'm sure that if RH mode was fixed the TF mode would have a much better chance of working. It's very strange that Altitude Hold works perfectly but Radio Alt Hold does not.

Kevin
Back to Top
Rich View Drop Down
Just Flight Staff
Just Flight Staff
Avatar

Joined: 31 Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Status: Offline
Points: 8403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rich Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2017 at 12:41pm
Hi,
At the moment we're not sure what the plan is for the Tornado. With the advent of 64bit sims, we'd really like to go back and turn on all the stuff that was originally coded but had to be turned off due to the performance issues in FSX, and also perhaps expand the scope of the project to include some other variants, in addition to squashing any remaining issues.
The developers are currently very busy on other projects at the moment, but certainly the Tornado project hasn't reached the end of its development life just yet. 
 
Back to Top
kevinh View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 12 Nov 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 199
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevinh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 8:39am
Rich,

Good to hear there is some hope.

Terrain following and Radio Alt Hold haven't been turned off for performance. They just don't work properly. Haven't done since initial release and I reported it to support before the first SP. I understand the time issues but leaving this unfixed would be very disappointing. Especially as terrain following mode was a headline feature from the outset.

As Baro Alt Hold works smoothly and no longer nose dives when engaged it shouldn't be too hard to get RH mode working as well. TF mode should work smoothly too with the same tuning.

64 bit conversation is a different thing altogether and if that can't happen I'll still enjoy flying the GR1 in FSX. 64 bit won't help performance.

Kevin
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down