This forum is in read-only mode for archive purposes, please use our new forum at https://community.justflight.com
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > DC-8 Jetliner Series 10 through 70
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

In defense of a 2D window

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
P/UT
P/UT

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote flyforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: In defense of a 2D window
    Posted: 27 Aug 2015 at 10:26pm
After JF made it clear that 2d windows are a thing of the past, I had put the DC8 in the hangar, since I could not fly it IFR without crashing it. Trying to navigate from the main instruments to the autopilot and radios during an approach was simply impossible for me--and I've been flying sims for 20+ years.. Let's remember that these (real)planes were flown by 3 pilots, not one.
Anyway, I finally used FS Panel studio to add a generic dc8 autopilot and NAV1 and NAV2 radios on one 2d window. 
Now I am able to fly it from departure to landing , and it's a fun plane to fly, given that it still requires some manual handling. Some people may argue that this reduces the immersion of a quasi real instrument experience , using strictly a virtual cockpit.  I disagree. When I fly, I know I am flying a desktop airplane.  It's a compromise I made a long time ago when I decided to stop flying real airplanes.

If only JF or Airplane Heavens provided gauges with which to create a 2d panel, I think many of us would be happier choosing our options. Adding a few guages for 2d is not a big deal.

Given the small market, I am still surprised to see how some companies still operate as if their sales were a one time cut and run deal.

I've purchased a number of JF planes, because I like vintage planes. I think the 146 was their last of the best with regard to 3d and 2D panels.