Just Flight Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Just Flight Products > DC-6B - Legends of Flight
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - autopilot
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

autopilot

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
wain View Drop Down
P1
P1
Avatar

Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Location: EGGD
Points: 640
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: autopilot
    Posted: 31 Jan 2014 at 10:24pm
I was flying the DC6B yesterday and needed to wander away for a short while, hadn't trimmed properly so clicked for autopilot, set heading and altitude and switched autopilot on,(using the left-hand toggle) however when I came back minutes later the plane was dropping like a stone.....is there another switch or lever I should have operated/

thanks wain
Back to Top
BobKay View Drop Down
P/UT
P/UT


Joined: 30 Nov 2013
Location: USA
Points: 185
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BobKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Feb 2014 at 2:32pm
I've found that if you select an altitude and turn the autopilot on before you've built up enough airspeed the plane may try to climb too steeply, stall, and drop like a rock.

Back to Top
wain View Drop Down
P1
P1
Avatar

Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Location: EGGD
Points: 640
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2014 at 10:25am
ok, I was at level flight but not trimmed, set autopilot to 100ft above my height but it just started to drop like it was nose down slightly, it did keep its heading though so that part of AP was functioning....just wondered if maybe there was a master switch somewhere else....I will have to look / read some more....thanks.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down